ePortfolios for Learning: My Philosophy of ePortfolio Development

Via Scoop.itWeb 2.0 for juandoming

As I work with others on the implementation of ePortfolio Development, I need to articulate my own philosophy. My doctorate is in Human Development (not computer science), so my philosophy comes from the perspective of using e-portfolios in the context of learning and individual lifelong development. Some people see ePortfolios through the lens of ICT and the underlying technologies; I see ePortfolios through the lens of human development potential in an era of social media.

I believe:
ePortfolio development activities can be found across the lifespan
ePortfolio development can be an important element of a Personal Learning Environment (PLE) and Network (PLN)
ePortfolio development and social networking have many similarities
ePortfolio development is a balance between process and product
ePortfolios can be created for many different purposes
ePortfolios can be created with many different tools
ePortfolio development should be integrated into everyday activities
ePortfolio development supports a process of Reflection and Metacognition that is essential to lifelong learning

I elaborated in a longer GoogleDoc Document with supporting links to some of my work.

Via blog.helenbarrett.org

Deja un comentario

Seguir

Recibe cada nueva publicación en tu buzón de correo electrónico.

Únete a otros 25.480 seguidores

